ITT Technical Institute

Learn the technical skills to get ahead.

If you're seeking a new career or to further the one you're already enjoying, and tend to have interestes in technology fields, ITT Technical Institute could be the next step in your education. ITT has been a leading educator in the U.S. since 1969, and currently has about 48,000 students on its roster.

ITT offers over 100 locations in about 30 states with varying degree programs at each. Additionally, ITT has embraced the digital age and offers a variety of online programs.

There are six schools within ITT that allow students to truly focus on their interests and find a degree that best suits them for the start of a successful career. Not all programs are available at each campus. These schools are:
- School of Information Technology
- School of Drafting and Design
- School of Electronics Technology
- School of Business
- School of Criminal Justice
- School of Health Sciences

- Over 100 locations in 30 states
- Broad offering of degree programs
- Web site is easy to use and informative
- Online- and classroom-based programs
- Online application process
- Accreditated
- Accepts international students
- Active student life

- Few Master's programs
- Does not present financial costs
- Not all locations eligible for federal student aid
- Degree programs not offered at all locations

Cost varies from program to program, and may change over time.

Most ITT campuses are authorized to participate in federal student loan and financial aid programs.

ITT primarily focuses on offering Associate's and Bachelor's degrees.

Degree programs will vary by location, but the most popular offered include:
- Criminal Justice
- Business Administration
- Computer Drafting and Design
- Computer Network Systems
- Web Development
- Software Engineering Technology
- Information Systems Security
- Construction Management

ITT offers over 100 campuses across the U.S., in about 30 states. ITT makes learning convenient for students by offering class schedules to meet varying demands, year-round classes for faster completion, input from local businesses to ensure learning is relevant, job placement service and practical application in the classroom.

ITT also offers a Web-based program. Associate's, Bachelor's and Master's Degrees are available via the online program, with an ever-increasing number of degrees available and similar to those offered in traditional classrooms.

Life on campus will vary by location, but for many ITT campuses, there are several regularly scheduled programs, events and organizations that enhance the student experience. These can include:
- Honor Societies
- National Student Clubs
- Sports: Flag Football, Basketball
- LAN Parties
- Career Fairs
- Barbeques
- Holiday Parties

ITT Technology Institute is one of the oldest and most respected technical schools in the U.S., graduating thousands of students annually and assisting them to find careers in their area of study. ITT provides a well-rounded and relevant education and has a broad catalog of degree programs. While the school is primarily focused on technical studies for Associate's and Bachelor's degrees, they do offer some Master's Degree programs.

ITT has campuses across the U.S., as well as online-based programs, making the school conveniently accessed by almost anyone interested in pursuing a degree with this institution.

IT Technical Institute, ITTI, Technical institue

Comments & Feedback
(Page 1 of 1)

R Yeager

Thumbs Up

I find it interesting that so many bad mouth ITT, yet they cannot spell. ITT is a tech school! You learn a trade, dont expect to transfer it. If you want a generic degree, which will transfer but not get you a job, go to a community college. Everyone should have a basic knowledge of life. Just dont expect an associate from any straight up school to set you up. I have an AA in Gen ED. I know my chemistry and physics. I also have a BS in Aviation Management, No job. I have been to an aircraft maintenance school, 24 years work with a top salary of $85,000 in which I needed no other school than the tech school. Judge for yourself!!! posted Mar 11th, 2015 12:01 am



does ITT have anything that has to do with voice acting. voice actors get payee a lot more than regular actors. its a carrier I've been wanting to do for awhile now and just a few months ago I got a letter from the school wanting to invite to be a student. voice acting has a lot to do with technology and design. just curious. posted Feb 17th, 2015 3:29 pm



Any one have the work for the Software Development 7-Quarter Associate of Applied Science Degree Program I will pay for all The work you have. posted Nov 10th, 2014 8:21 pm



do we Get money back at the end of the semester??

cause my old school ASA did and does any of our credits from our previous school..?? posted Nov 3rd, 2014 9:04 pm


Thumbs Up




Stay away from Madison AL. Electronic engineering. Piss poor and a crime its so bad. posted Feb 21st, 2014 7:37 pm



I am an ITT Tech Grad. I earned my Bachelors Degree in Construction Management. The real problem is students who have no drive or goals. This applies to traditional schools as well. I have worked my way up the ladder and have found that alot of individuals think like fromthetrenches that the focus is too much on technology at ITT Tech, however I will point out the skills to hit the ground running are what all shools should provide. The drive to succeed and thrive in your field are what will determine your level of success.

ITT Tech students have taken the same math courses required to obtain a degree at a traditional school. So the statement that they are not rooted in the fundamentals is a poorly researched statement. I have hired many graduates from many different educational backgrounds. I have found issues with the knowledge and skill levels in many of them. I have found that many ITT Tech graduates are different in that they have learned not only the theory but they know how to apply it.

I would argue that if you take a look at how many graduates from traditional schools are actually knowledgeable and rooted in the fundamentals and are capable of hitting the ground running with a limited amount of training is comperable. You have a large number of students attending traditional institutions and a handfull attending private schools. I am curious how it works out statistically.

I chose ITT Tech because I have been a working professional and their schedules enabled me to continue being a gainfully employed professional. Most traditional schools expect life to stop during your education, scheduling most classes during work hours.

During my time at ITT Tech I gained more knowledge and experience than people I knew attending a traditional school. I have taken positions with companies many of them applied for as well. I am the type of person who burried myself in my education and in my field. That is what makes success not where you attended school.

I believe many of those who knock ITT Tech are those who are affraid well trained and educated graduates from private schools are going to make their educations obsolite. I believe they are of the mind that they are elite. I believe they are going to be the ones holding the highly skilled and knowledgeable graduates from the private schools down.

That is fine the trend with many private school graduates has been entrepreneurship so they will be the ones doing the hireing. In my experience the truth is too many traditional school graduates need their hands held and extensive training in the most basic skills. Many graduates need to grow up and realize success is earned and doesn't just come from education and that piece of paper you will hang on your wall. It is drive it is commitment and it is knowling where you want to be and how you are going to get there. posted Mar 22nd, 2012 7:26 pm



how much is it to get into drafting and gesighn????????/// or the course ??????? posted Feb 15th, 2012 8:49 pm


Thumbs Down

I'm graduating from there in December and I' m afraid I just spent 50k on a degree that won't get me anywhere. All students should get a refund. posted Nov 10th, 2011 8:31 pm


Thumbs Down

I just finished the Software Development Technology Associates Degree. I knew the credits would not transfer when I signed up; however, I did not know that they were going to eliminate the entire programming portion of the curriculum. Now that I'm ready to start the Software Application Development (Bachelor), it is no longer an option. This major reorganization of the curriculum is probably a change for the better overall, but I'm stuck here high and dry, along with the rest of the ITT students who were planning to start a BS soon in programming or criminal justice. The only thing that I COULD take is a BS in project management, not at all what I wanted. posted Oct 21st, 2011 9:02 pm


Thumbs Up

I'm attending ITT Tech. I'm in my 4th quarter and its pretty good. I'm in the electronic program. The school is pretty expensive if your getting a loan. But being in the military pay for all my school fee. I have learn alot. But the students that dont show up and smoke weed during breaks are the ones that talk shit about this school and then complain to the teacher while they are stone of their ass. Its funny. The school isn't the best school but is not the worst. posted May 20th, 2011 6:52 am


Thumbs Down

The truth about ITT and related schools.....

The only types of people that go to these for-profit schools are those that cannot get into, or handle, a real university. You really want to go to a it has a convenient location? Because it offers convenient schedules? I go to a gas station because it is in a convenient location. I walk two miles to get to a college that has a good reputation. The truth is, students justify going to a subpar school like this, because they do not want to admit they cannot handle a real university. For the sake of argument, lets say ITT is a wonderful college (but their lack of REGIONAL accreditation would say otherwise), why on earth would you pay 3x the cost of a fully accredited, reputable, state college if there is any chance at all that people will look negatively on your degree because of where it came from? If I'm going to spend half the cost of a house, give something 4 years of my life, I will make huge sacrifices and go well out of my way to pick something where I know I have a strong foundation. I am not going to go through all of this, then have to fight to convince people that I have a reputable degree for the rest of my career. That’s nonsense. The fact is, ITT is simply a business and for-profit schools conflict in what is in the best interest of students. National accreditation is a joke. What matters is regional accreditation. If you want, I will go around and accredited schools, the problem is, it doesn't mean anything - just like with national accreditation. ITT is not regionally accredited for a reason, if they had high enough standards to obtain it, they would get it in a heartbeat. State colleges and technical schools have gotten much more flexible in recent years, they offer evening and online classes. There is no reason to go to a college like ITT, Globe, etc. Another thing, in ITTs commercials, how do they advertise? Do they outline their programs, state their accreditations? No, they advertise based on emotion. They do this because their curriculum is very weak and is not reputable. There is a type of student that would be attracted to this. A type of student that would be attracted to spending over 3 times the price of a fully accredited, reputable, state college degree for something as worthwhile as I can print from my computer at home. And you know what? If you are in a hiring position, and you see someone pulls up in a Chevy Metro and you learned he paid $80,000 for it and tries to justify this to you....are you going to hire him? Of course not, morons don't get hired. This is why people from ITT don't get good jobs, because they lack the aptitude to see the school for what it is, and that will show in the work they do in other ways. while its likely true some from ITT go on to get excellent jobs, what you don't know is they likely are friends with someone up the chain, which makes where you went to college irrelevant. Plus everything I said completely ignores the additional problem that schools like ITT are routinely investigated for accepting unqualified students and passing unqualified students with As, just to get government tuition money. My qualifications are that I have a bachelor's in electrical engineering and a doctorate of pharmacology from a REAL college, am very familiar with hiring process, and the fields of medicine and technology. Good luck people, hope this saved you from what you would later look back on as a major life mistake.

posted May 1st, 2011 6:58 am



I graduated from ITT Tech with an Associate's Degree in multimedia. If I could go back, I would've chosen a different school. Now I am stuck at a job where I don't make enough to pay off my student loan and I'm sure I will be paying on it for the rest of my life. The education I got was definitley not worth the $60K. If you are considering ITT Tech, consider a community college or University first. posted Feb 23rd, 2011 2:32 pm


Thumbs Up

I'm enjoying ITT, due to the fact that our instructors are teaching us much more then just what we learn in class. For exammple like how we are setting up breadboards with sensers and LEDs before we even started getting into the actually coarse work. Plus very easy to make friends here. posted Feb 21st, 2011 9:48 am


Thumbs Up

I really enjoyed most of my time at ITT. I feel that I learned a lot. I received their 2 year(2006) and 4 year(2008) degree in Electronics Engineering Technology. I consider myself an Electronic Engineer. I currently work for as a field service technician and I make more then what Test Engineers do at a company I worked for previously.

I read these comments and it appears that the campus you attended and the instructors you had for your courses really have a lot to do with your experience there. When I was going to school with a full course load I was also holding a full time job. The homework that I received seemed to keep me busy on what ever time I had to do it in.

All of the instructors were very knowledgeable and the small class sizes meant that you could get help from your instructor when you needed it. They also were very passionate about their field.

One thing to note that I did not understand when I started at the school was the difference between standard “Electrical Engineering” and “Electronics Engineering Technology”. Said Simply the “Technology” means that it is more of an applied engineering degree in that there is much less theoretical and more practical. You do learn Calculus (Differential equations, Laplace Transforms, Fourier Series and what not) but not to the extent of a standard EE degree. They put more emphasis on practical circuit design and analysis keeping in mind that components are not perfect.

I had two final projects. One for my associates degree and another capstone for my Bachelors degree. The first was a fisher price house that I converted into a computer controlled house where all the lights, the security system and ceiling fans where controlled with a laptop computer. The second was a designed from scratch Walkie talkie. I designed the oscillator, mixer amplifiers and receiver circuits.

I do agree with others that you get out what you put into it. During my associate final project I had very little time and was unable to keep up with a Micro economics class very well. I almost failed that one. The A's aren't that easy...

However, ITT seems to have a bad reputation (which is upsetting) and that in my opinion is what is keeping me from securing a position in engineering so far. Also, I do agree that ITT is really expensive and a bit difficult to repay. Another thing to consider is that if you want to continue through to a master's program at another school, ITT is not ABET accredited. That is a regional accreditation compared to its national accreditation. Some schools will still accept you, others not so much. It (ABET) is also a requirement for becoming a licensed Professional Engineer if your into that sort of thing.

I have been told that they are working on getting ABET accreditation.

I don't think ITT was a bad choice for me, It wasn't the best choice either.


Nicholas posted Feb 15th, 2011 10:02 am


Thumbs Down



Thumbs Up

I just finished my AA in Electronic Engineering and going back for a BS in a few months. The first year was pretty simple, but you learn the very basics. The first term has classes that are extremely basic. The rest of the first year, you get in to the basics and components of electronics. This is where I feel ITT gets its bad rep from. Most people take the first term, drop to save their money, then bash the program. It isnt given a chance.

The 2nd year is much harder. You really start learning about how everything works, use alot of math and programming, and build alot projects in lab. Sometimes you wont understand what you did until a different class, but it all comes together. I am very confident in what I've learned.

I will say that some Itt campuses are better than others. My campus had great teachers and labs. You just need to put in the time. Most people that say bad things have a bad experience because they made it one.

Not one person in any review I have ever read has said what they have done for their final project which I find strange. A friend of mine did a color programmed cart that follows a colored pathed to a destination, then opens the storage compartment, all voice controlled. I built(and still have in my car today) a voice reconized door lock fo automobiles. If you lock your keys in your car, you can speak your passphrase (that you choose), and it will unlock the driver side door.

Heres my point. I have never worked with electronics before. I have been at the same restaurant for 6 years. Now I work at AT&T making good money, and great opportunities ahead. Yea I'm 36k in debt, but I make enough to pay more than the minimum and get it done with.

My wife went to a major University and has a Doctoratate. The ratio of what she makes and has to pay back is about the same as it is for me. posted Feb 7th, 2011 10:03 am


Thumbs Up

I went to ITT and liked the people there because everybody knew everybody. I was use to RCC community college where they barely remember your name. I had to drop out because my wife was having complications with the pregnancy but they did everything they could to keep me in. I don't know about you but I like small classes and I've seen people get jobs at major firms ie., Edison, Boeing just for having a 2 yr degree. These employers actually come to the schools and recruit so, it can't be all bad. I start back next quarter and look forward to it. posted Jan 19th, 2011 6:34 pm



No, unless things change for me in the next semesters.

The school was way to easy to get it but i really wasn't thinking about that since in new york i was having a hard time finding any programming related collages and i don't want a school with like 200+ kids/adults in a room otherwise your not going to learn anything if you get stuck on something.

so when i go in there to talk about what kind of class's i'll be attending no prices mentioned yet. they showed me a few that seemed okay they involved c and java I'm thinking okay i'll get a 100 in java for sure , going to have to study up on c though.

so alright after i decided on being a SAP student, I'm told there will be 3 class's per week I'm thinking okay so like 2 hours day 5 days a week? never actually asked that i find out its 3 days a week 4 hours and 1 class each day. so i'm thinking okay seems like a waist of time to just do nothing for 4 days am i right?? so i ask can i have 5 or more class's a week? the advisor or what ever there called says sure but its not recommended because the class's will be very hard and you'll always being working on labs. so im like damn alright then i'll not take the extra class's then if it's going to be that hard. but that also made me happy because now i think the school is going to be super hard which is what i was hoping for i want to learn not relearn...

so my first day starts i expect all first days to be quite simple and not much is really don't exactly what it was we got books, did a little introduction of each other i was bit nervous but whatever...

eventually the teacher has some other people come in to talk about eh jobs or something and how we are all going to be competing for a job, well their was only 2 SAP students in my class so really didn't care i think in second semester theirs like 4 SAP's now. i think SAP is least taken class or something.

so as the weeks go on I'm thinking what the hell, the problem solving class i learned this crap is 2nd grade, some students had a hard time knowing the factors of 6. Even the teacher had some issues with doing some basic math. the computer class involved learning all the insides of a computer and how they work now this was a bit more fun and i did learn alot and i was thankful for this class.

so some problems with the 3 class's i took.

1. Is they usually let out at 11 if class ended at 12:24 or 10 if class ended at 11:24

2. I was not given homework almost never, when i was given homework it was usually a 5 minute job in most case's depending on class, the computer class was a bit harder but not super hard.

3. The Job people in the front desk or what ever they are called said only some of you will be able get a job since your all competing, this made me think could they maybe mean none of us will and your just saying that so if we don't get a job we can't do anything about it? because we had to sign a contract on first day that they gave us.

However many students currently enrolled are saying it will become much hard the 2nd year. Sure this is nice to hear... but why do i need to wait an entire year to actually learn something? that's stupid and is wasting my money, and it's not exactly comforting becuase if in that 2nd year i do not learn anything im trapped for both years, i probably already am but idk.

so what I'm really nervous about is i am having a difficult time finding a job to help pay for this mistake i made, and to make up for what i'm not learning at ITT-TECH.

i study various programming languages for 10-20 hours day sure it sounds stupid but when your not getting any knowledge for $40,000 and your super worried about getting a decent job you'd want to study hard to make sure you get the job you want and know how to be efficient in that job so your not fired.

posted Jan 10th, 2011 1:02 am


Thumbs Down

I should have realized that any school that advertises at 3 am is not going to be a serious school. I'm nearly done with my associates in Software Development and when I am done I will be nearly $40,000 in debt. I knew that it would be that much when I signed up but I also believed that I would be attending a school with the latest technology and information. That is the exact opposite of what I have recieved. EVERYTHING is out of date even FREE programs. And the curiculum is from about 5 years ago (which is rediculous when it comes to software). They JUST got optical mice for the labs!

I've got a lot more...

I have had several (not all, but several) teachers that are sickeningly bad. They are unprofessional, unapproachable, and uninterested. In a recent programming class, on the last day after our final, myself and several other students were still struggling to finish our final projects. We were asking the teacher to help us to get them to work. The TEACHER could not get them to work AT ALL. So I asked him if this was the first time the school had done this project, he said no. I asked how it was possible for him to not know how to do it if he had to deal with it in past classes, he said and I quote, "I think in my last class no one did it." It was the final project and no one did it. This did not surprise me as he was giving answers like that all quarter. That is a serious symptom of poor teaching ability. What really bothers all of us is the fact that every quarter we're supposed to fill out these teacher evaluations but despite ripping these teachers apart for their inability to fulfill their basic job requirements, they just keep popping back up quarter after quarter, year after year. And keep in mind that for every 100 students that graduate (just with an associates degree) they make $4 million, which does not include all the people that dropped out after a few quarters. They can afford better instructors.

For the love of god please do NOT go to this school for a computer course if you are not comfortable with computers. SEVERAL students that started up the same time I did had literally NEVER touched a computer before going there. I don't know why they thought they could jump right into programming but DO NOT FALL FOR IT! They have ALL flunked out, many without jobs, and are now struggling with thousands of dollars of debt.

Here's something that's really crazy... You don't actually buy books, they include books in the tuition and every quarter you just pick your books up. Except every... EVERY quarter they run out of books! My friends and I just figured out why this is (we believe, no evidence obviously). I think they plan on a certain percentage of students failing or dropping out every quarter and undercut how many books they buy for the next quarter. So when people DON'T fail we don't have enough books. A few friends in my math class right now are trying to keep up without books!

Don't think I just have a problem with the school because I'm not doing well, I'm a 4.0 student with perfect attendance. I wish I had the energy to go into all of the other reasons not to enroll but I hope this is sufficient for anyone reading this. It is a horrible rip off. As soon as I'm done with my associates I am out of here. I'm just hoping I can find a decent school that will let me transfer some of my credits. AVOID ITT TECH!!! posted Dec 11th, 2010 10:16 pm


Thumbs Up

Its up to you posted Dec 2nd, 2010 5:43 am


Thumbs Up

decent technical school. They have been around for ever and you can get good certifications there. posted Nov 23rd, 2010 2:05 pm


Thumbs Down

ew posted Nov 10th, 2010 7:33 am



Went, took a test, didnt get a good vibe from the school and its staff and never came back posted Nov 1st, 2010 1:28 pm



After one semester of comunity college i decided that i wanted to try ITT tech. I feel like the real reason i wanted to go is because it seemed easier. The commercials made it sound like you would be trained in one specific are rather than taking alot of useless classes we take in college.

So i made an appointment to go take a test to see if i "qualified" and its a timed test by the way. I didnt even get to finnish the test in time and it just seemed like it was too easy. The man or "recruiter" told me that i passed with flying colors. And right away started to talk about money.

After taking this test and feeling like even a fifth grader can pass the test i got this very strange feeling about this place. I couldnt see myself going there and the fact that i "passed" the test just like that made me feel like it was a scam. I didnt get a good feeling about this place and i never went back. For a couple of weeks they kept on calling me to see when i would be able to go back and talk about how i would pay for it. Like i said i never went back because i had a bad feeling about that school. Just putting it out there. posted Nov 1st, 2010 1:26 pm



Just want to give some of you prospects a little heads up on the market for EE/CS engineers. I'm a vp of engineering in a technology startup and have been hiring my load of engineers over the last few years. I'm myself an EE from a major university and have worked for several high-tech Fortune 100 for +10 years.

In short, sorry for the pain but ITT and all of the other for-profit institutions have such a bad reputation that you're in for a major disappointment when interviewing for your first job. Unless you're exceptionally smart and/or have tons of related experience, you'll stand no chance to get that first job with a respectable organization. The reason? simple: ITT focuses on technology whereas traditional schools will infuse you with the theory of engineering. What it means is that once out of ITT you'll just know how to use the latest popular fancy tools, platforms and programming language of the moment, but you won't have the foundation rooted in mathematics and analysis that will carry you through your professional life. This is easily recognized when interviewing an ITT graduate. For some jobs it's ok (but those ain't what you're expecting after having forked +$40k ) but for most engineering jobs it's a major let-down.

Granted once on the job, pure math is usually not that useful any more given the modern tools available. However, it's the deep understanding and certain mindset that it requires that is valuable. For those who think that anyone with a will and a book can become an engineer, well, sorry but it just ain't true. You've got to also have the appropriate mindset. Traditional universities provide the filtering mechanism to weed out those who don't have what it takes and ITT feeds on them. In short, if you don't make the cut for a traditional university, you'll most likely experience the same faith in the job market, which uses a more brutal selection.

Do yourself a favour, be a bit more patient, get an associate at your local CC then get accepted and transfer in a recognized/accredited 4-year program. Remember, this is just the beginning and if you can't take the load then it's probably not for you.

djsee4: you should visit your local "liberal" university in EE/CS/ME departments to find out that most students are typically not straight out of high-school (some are and yes they're typically freaking smart but also deeply passionate about technology.) In fact, in my experience, a large percentage of engineering students are in their late twenties and often come from related hands-on industries and/or military looking for the next step. posted Oct 12th, 2010 1:27 am


Thumbs Up

My mom always said you get out of something what you put into it, and I think the same applies to ITT. posted Aug 31st, 2010 9:05 pm


Thumbs Up

What I like about ITT is how accessible it and how flexible each of the programs and classes are. In my opinion, they offer some of the most cutting-edge degree programs for today's tech-based world and econonmy. posted Aug 31st, 2010 7:35 pm

Ali R.

Thumbs Up

With any school you get out of the experience what you put into it. Invest your time, money and soul and youll see positive results. posted Aug 31st, 2010 5:10 pm


Thumbs Up

Had a friend that did one of the programs there. Have heard nothing but rave reviews. posted Aug 31st, 2010 4:20 pm


Thumbs Up

ITT has been around for ever.

They are decent posted Aug 31st, 2010 3:01 pm



The reason I chose ITT.

After high school, I joined the Marine Corps Reserves. After the completion of Boot Camp and my MOS training, I started my civilian education as a nieve 18 year old attending a local cc. I wanted to be a history teacher but was not really motivated and the professors, although well educated, did not motivate me whatsoever. I grew up very poor and had to work to help support myself and my parents. After many years of going through jobs and not having a stable schedule, I only earned a few dozen credits and was not any wiser. I got my first construction job in 2003 with a large established electrical company company and was immediately interested in the blueprints. In 2006 I took a few CAD classes at that same local cc but (as usual) there was a conflict with the scheduling. What a BUMMER!!!

In March 2008, I enrolled at ITT. I was 28 and hungry to learn my trade. After my first few quarters, I realized some of the teachers and classes are not very good. However, most of the teachers are very experienced and knowledgable in their field and some of the classes were very helpful. What I did learn is that its all up to me, not my teachers, and not the school, but it was all me.

The bottom line is that all institutions of education are a scam. Any individual with a free library card and some motivation can learn just as much, if not more than some spoiled brat attending a 4-year college. If I were a hiring manager, the qualifications I would look for would include: 1) individuals socioeconomic background 2) did the student work while in school 3) individuals real take on life. Lets face it, college will prepare most people to work for someone else like a bunch of suckers, but if your happy with it, then role with it.

posted Aug 13th, 2010 1:38 am


Thumbs Down

ITT basically ruined any chance I have at doing things within the time frame that I would have liked. I hope someone reads this and thinks twice before going. They are very careful to keep you in the dark about things, unless you know what to ask. Most people don't. It is an overpriced school with an inferior curriculum almost anyone you talk to from a "real" college considers ITT a joke. Their credits do not transfer. I had to start all over again. I received my Associates Degree in Criminal Justice. I didn't want my bachelors from ITT. So, I tried to transfer and no one would accept my credits. I actually changed majors after I found that out, since I was starting over again anyway. I am now attending a much better college, but I am far past my initial goals, about where I should be at my age. Now, I have a meaningless piece of paper that cost me $40,000 and I am 2 years behind where I want to be. Please, please, please think twice before attending this school. I feel like a fool because I was a victim of this scam. Thanks. posted Aug 11th, 2010 6:37 pm



Does anyone have any info about the Arnold, MO. campus? My husband is thinking about enrolling at ITT tech, and at first we were very happy but after reading a ton of very negative posts and experiences relating to ITT tech we are a bit nervous now.... Please help if you have any info about the Arnold campus. Thanks so much! posted Jul 20th, 2010 9:58 pm

Tom from Houston, TX


Guys as i sit at home on this Monday July 5th. i have been reading these comments. i am a 34 year old degreed professional. i have a Bachelors degree and i have called and made an appointment. i am considering going back to obtain a technical degree from ITT simply because i gave been out of work for a year and a month to this day. i am at my wits end and have been trying and trying and all i see id jobs in the technical arena dealing with networking, programming or security. so i have considered talking to them about the degree i have an how i can expedite obtaining or adding to my existing degree. Please give advise, direction and or comments as to what i might do?


Tom posted Jul 5th, 2010 1:33 pm



I am a electrician by trade. I work 50+ hours a week and attend ITT full time. I have one quarter left and have been able to keep a 3.75 GPA. They are students in my class that don't work and are taking only two classes a quarter and can't even pass the class. To me you get what you put into it. I am in the CDD program I have become quite proficient With AutoCAD, Revit, and Autodesk Inventor. I have been fortunate to have some really great Cad teachers that have gone out of their way to help me learn everything I need. All I am saying is if you put forth the time and effort. You will come out learning something posted Jun 20th, 2010 9:48 am


Thumbs Up

well i go to itt tech. im starting this fall. thus i have been in there dual enrollenment program for free because i am in highschool. the campus in ohio is great. i actually do learn alot. it is very expensive but it is hands on!! College is about learning...sometimes u need to learn ur self .. if u have question ask ur proffesor. posted May 27th, 2010 11:16 am


Thumbs Down

First and foremost, I am writing this because I keep seeing people ask, “Should I go to ITT Tech?” when I look up college info. I do not “blog” or like to give my opinion. So I will not give you my opinion. I will give you my experience with ITT Tech. Why I went there? Why I left there? Why I went to a real college? And the pro’s and con’s of both.

To start with, I knew nothing about college and I wanted a degree fast. So I saw ITT Tech and thought this would be a good place for me. I signed the contact and was told this would be better than other places. Things were good in criminal justice, having a 4.0, and working hard. But as time went on I found that the teaching was not that good. Here are some more reasons: A lot of teachers I found out were not qualified to teach a class and did; I saw a teacher let a student pass a class, who should have failed the class, right in front of me. The reason the teacher stated, “I have to let a certain percent pass for enrollment stuff.” Also, the course out-line for every class I went to were not even teaching the basics. I had it with ITT. I wanted to transfer my credits to a new college and move on. But there was one problem: ITT credits transfer no where. Trust me I tried. I had to start over after a year and half. I did not go in to CJ but a better field. And yes I tried to get my money back and had no luck. It was a hard lesson to learn, but I have a better education now.

ITT Pro’s- NONE! Well, ok one. You can do nothing and still get a degree.

ITT Con’s- The teachers’ are not up to standard all the time (qualified). You cannot pick your classes. You cannot choose to get used books, they come with the class. You will spend, more or less, $80,000. It takes 180 credits to get a BA. CREDITS WILL NOT TRANSFER. Not regionally accredited. Regionally accredited is the highest standard. DEGREE WILL NOT TRANSFER DUE TO CREDITS. Not considered a college, it is a trade school only. If they do not have a higher degree you are stuck with the level you have. Overall, course out-line is not well rounded. I asked people in my chosen profession about ITT and all I heard was laughter.

Real college con’s- May have to take remedial classes to meet standards.

Real college pro’s- Highly qualified professors that teach in their field only. You can pick your classes. Can get used books. For a BA: state run, more or less, $15,000- 20,000; and are regionally accredited. Degree will transfer. Can get a PhD. Credits will transfer also. Overall, course out-line is very will rounded to make you more worldly knowledgeable person. I asked people in my chosen profession about a real college and they said, “Keep that GPA high and you will do just fine. You can get a degree fast i.e. you can take up to 7 classes at a time. I take 5 and do just fine. It only takes 120 credits to get a BA.

So, what is my out look on the real college experience:

I am so glade I went to a real college. I know all my professors. If you make studying a part of your life you will do just fine. The professors are great. Some of my old professors are friends now too. Every college is different; so, I would say to find a college you like in order to make the experience funnier and better. Like I said this is my experience and not my opinion like others give. But I will leave you with these 3 things 1) Do your own research and ask if ITT Tech’s credits can transfer to the college you want to go to (you will get a better understanding if you ask why or why not?). 2) Ask your future employer where they prefer you to graduate from and what classes to take. 3) Before you graduate from a real college, join your professional association in your field. If you’re a student you fee will be free or $50 more or less VS in some cases $1000. Why is this important? Your professional association, like the APA for psychology, sends out a magazine about what is happening in you field, when their annual expo takes place (100’s of top people will be there in you profession), and they have job listings that are only given to your professional association from top employers around the world. So, this is how you get the job, in this order: It is who you know (professional association), graduate from a good regionally accredited college with a good GPA, and have some experience i.e. internship. All in all, it is your choice not my choice. I just hope that my experience helps……

Just Remember: ITT Tech is a for profit school. That means they need to keep people coming back. A non-profit school does not have to do that. They could fail a whole class, where a for profit would not!

Non-profit schools care about your education and not your money!

Also, look into how a professor becomes a professor. It takes a long times to do so. Google it. You will then see one reason why regional accreditation is better than national accreditation.

Trust me, just go to a regional college and you will see why it is better: more classes times and diff ways of going to them, more help with labs, and so on. Just take a tour of one!

posted May 17th, 2010 6:05 pm


Thumbs Down

posted Jan 18th, 2010 7:23 pm



They must be doing some thing right, I know for a fact that the cia and fbi hires students from the nashville campus. posted Dec 7th, 2009 3:44 pm

Noel R.

Thumbs Down

$35,000.00 and a $.20 piece of paper and I couldn't get a job in my "Field" if it owned my own company. The staff is nice, the classes are small, the books are junk and the stuff you learn (at least in the Web/Multimedia department) is out dated years before it is "cutting edge" for ITT. High school kids learn stuff that would make ITT's best and brightest drool with envy. DON'T WASTE YOU TIME OR YOUR MONEY. And before you reply that I must be some idiot that couldn't cut it, you should know that I have a 148 IQ, worked full time (40+) and still carried a 3.3 GPA plus I already had a 12 year professional Graphic Design career. ITT and schools like it should be outlawed or at least made to be honest about what your in for and should not be allowed to receive any kind of financial aid, none. They and Sallie Mae are a bunch of CROOKS plain and simple. Best wishes Noel Rearick. posted Oct 26th, 2009 7:11 pm



Where to begin...? ITT-Tech panders to students who could barely make it through high school (for the most part) by swindling them out of their hard-earned money, under the guise of "financial aid". All in all, the whole operation is a financial aid scam. If the DOE stopped enabling them to swindle financial aid from students, the whole operation would fall flat enough to dissolve into bankruptcy, tomorrow.

For the most part, the company gets quality instructors who are down and out, hires them, abuses them, and then fires them, without cause, or they make up a cause for termination. Most instructors know their stuff pretty well, but when they learn how the operation is really operated, they either quickly divorce themselves from the company, or they make the mistake of mentioning some of the many inconsistencies within earshot of an administrator. Then, without warning, and even with glowing evaluations, that instructor is fired within days.

Students need to know that the grades they actually receive from ITT-Tech are NOT indicative of their actual progress, but are inflated so that 1) the student keeps on attending, thus ensuring a steady stream of financial aid keep flowing into the company, and 2) the instructor can boost their numbers (metrics) to get bonuses. Yep, you heard right! Grades are for hire! Especially, since the metrics changed last January (2009), and now all instructors' jobs depend on students getting A's and B's and attending every class. Instructors even hold pizza parties and bring in sweets and goodies, just to entice students to come to class and increase their grades. Students very seldom have homework, nor do they do the homework they are requested to do, yet miraculously, they garner A's and B's for final grades. Heck, last year, Dr. Hill (Dean of Education) even went to arbitration and ended up awarding a supposed Bachelor's Degree to a guy with a 3rd grade reading level!

Thank God I finally caught on at the local community college and don't have to be subjected to ITT's crap any more! Also, they charge $40,000 for a 2-year degree; by comparison, the local, fully-accredited community college, charges $3995/ semester. Huge difference! Also, I complained 3 times to HR about the fact that every time I entered the building through the faculty entrance, I had to hold my breath for all the smokers who blocked the entrance every day. Nothing was ever done, even when I made my complaint formal. posted Oct 16th, 2009 10:16 am


Thumbs Down

I got an associates degree in multimedia and it 's a worthless piece of paper. I received training and too many different areas and not enough in a specific area. Employers want to see concentration in one area. Also they did not not help guide you into getting internship. You were totally on your own. The career services were worthless. I feel I wasted over $40,000. posted Oct 11th, 2009 2:27 pm


Thumbs Up

I am looking at ITT for a 4 year in Engineering Technology. I consider the school to be very similar to a Polytechnic because it ends with the word Institute. The only thing I don't like is that the campuses are so minuscule compared to most university. As a USAF veteran I am excited to earn a bachelor's degree in a technical foray. I want to return to the defense industry after I graduate and hope they will respect my education the same as a liberal university electronics engineering bachelor's degree. I am 29 years old and do not want to surround myself with 18-24 year olds anymore. While they may be smart it seems like they think they know it all because they were good at Lego's and XBox. For me it takes former experience on the job as a combat technician to truly know what I'm getting into. I hope I'm making the right choice. posted Sep 5th, 2009 2:44 pm



If your considering attending this school or currently attending please visit and then make your decision. posted Jul 18th, 2009 8:15 pm



well im a senior this year in high school, and after I graduated I plan to attend ITT Tech. I think this would be a school for me, consiting that im majoring in criminal justice.
posted Oct 20th, 2008 8:28 am



I am about halfway through my BS at ITT Tech, and while I will parrot many of the other complaints about lenient teachers and courses that aren't always challenging, everything is what you make of it; if you go to class and do your homework you'll get good grades, but sometimes you have to work a bit independently to really learn what you need to learn. So, ITT Tech may not be the best school, and it's certainly not the cheapest, but the staff is dedicated and the courses are usually fairly comprehensive as long as you are willing to put in the time and effort. posted Oct 9th, 2008 5:07 pm



I see so many people bashing ITT it's pretty sad. I'm a current student and if you truly put hours and hours and hours as Sheep claims, you will learn all you need to. One thing about the school that could pose a problem is that teachers are a little too lenient in terms of late work and grading on a curve. So far it seems that most homework is completion points only. However, if you put forth the effort into the schooling and the homework, you'll learn more than you need to know for any of the programs. You can't possibly expect anyone to believe you put in a ton of time and effort and learned nothing. Personally, I learn better on my own...always have. So even if a teacher "sucks" I'll be fine because I'm teaching myself everything anyway. posted Oct 3rd, 2008 9:37 am



I just took courses at ITT Tech and they really work well with your schedule. posted Jul 1st, 2008 5:17 pm



The people who sign you up lie about salary expectations and the schools reputation among employers. I have a degree from ITT Tech. I know nothing about my field. Hours and hours and hours of "class" and I know nothing about my field. Anti - ITT Tech websites disappear, but there is a new one called Also, there is some truth in the Wikipedia article at
If you are a fellow victim of ITT and you are reading this, leave a comment, and STAY STRONG. There are more important things than money. posted May 6th, 2008 10:07 am



It is a pretty decent school. Very expensive but alot of hands on. Just like any school, you get out of it what you put into it. I watched some cruise through and graduate with me but they are still not working in their field. Take advantage of every opportunity there and you will do fine. posted May 3rd, 2008 4:48 pm



I just completed my degree online at ITT. Loved the flexibility. posted Apr 9th, 2008 4:33 pm



Yeah ITT Tech is pretty solid but it depends I think on where you do the course. Some campuses are better then others. posted Feb 28th, 2008 7:09 am



Yeah I went to the one in San Demas CA a few years back. It is a good course helped me get a job for sure. posted Feb 27th, 2008 5:47 am



These guys have been around for ever! I remember the tv and radio commercials when I was a kid. Has anyone ever gone there? I would love to know how the education is. posted Feb 27th, 2008 5:43 am



a solid tech school with lots of choice posted Feb 26th, 2008 7:12 am

  Leave Feedback


We help students find reviews on colleges, get help with student loan refinancing and other resourceful content to help students.

Social Links

© 2018