American Career Institute

Preparing Maryland students quality career training.

User Rating

25%

of people who tried this LegacyReview like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 32 reviews
American Career Institute

BACKGROUND

American Career Institute offers students numerous options and opportunities for advancing their education and thusly their careers. The faculty and staff are all professionals in their fields who have experience in a variety of occupations. Students at ACI are treated as adults and the school has developed an adult-learning methodology to challenge both traditional and non-traditional students.

American Career Institute specializes in the fields of Information Technology, Digital Media, and Health Care. The faculty and staff at ACI are dedicated to helping students receive a quality education in a short amount of time so they can start their new careers. In addition to in-class help, there is also an online student support system available to all students.

American Career Institute is accredited by the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education & Training (ACCET).

Click HERE to Visit the American Career Institute Website

PRO

- All training prepares students for post-graduation careers
- Faculty and staff are genuinely concerned with student success
- Online support system available to all students
- Large research library with more than 1,200 reference books
- Career Services department helps students prepare resumes and practices for interviews

CON

- Limited degree programs
- No online degrees

DEGREE PROGRAMS

- Digital Media
- Health Care
- Information Technology
- IT and Networking Design
- Medical Assisting
- Medical Coding & Billing

SCHOOLS
Baltimore Location
190 West Ostend Street
 Baltimore, MD 21230

 
Braintree Location
703 Granite Street 
Braintree, MA 02184

 
Cambridge Location
186 Alewife Brook Parkway 
Cambridge, MA 02138

 
Framingham Location
125 Newbury Street Framingham, MA 01701
 
Columbia Location
8621 Robert Fulton Drive 
Suite 180 
Columbia, MD 21046

 
Springfield Location
365 Cadwell Drive 
Springfield, MA 01104

 
Wheaton Location
11141 Georgia Ave.
 Wheaton, MD 20902

 
Woburn Location
10 State Street
 Woburn, MA 01801


STUDENT LIFE

Students at ACI come from all walks of life. Both traditional and non-traditional students attend ACI and are pursuing a high quality, career-training based education. Students at ACI have access to a large research library with more than 1,200 reference books, a dedicated career services department, and an online support system.

CONCLUSION

American Career Institute is a highly respected career-training college. Students at ACI are well equipped to pursue a career in their chosen field. Students receive training and mentoring from professionals in the field, which better prepares them for a successful career after graduation.

 

Common Misspellings

American Careers Institute, American Career School, Career Institute of America, Maryland Career Institute, ACI, American Career College

Share


User Feedback
(Page 1 of 3)

tony

Thumbs Down

Hey ACI. just saw your post about how you care about your students. I did call those numbers and those are the people that lie to you or tell you to read the small print. you never do what you say you will do. you make a lot of money on the students. making them buy outdated books work on outdated software and change schedules like your underware. you demean your students by making everyone wear scrubs and shirts with your logo on them or they can't go to school. You also mark up your software considerable and resell to the student. i bet the software people would love to know this. you make the student purchase uniforms to attend school. Please....grow up and get with the times. what a dumb, stupid school. This just shows it all about you and not the student.

posted Jan 29th, 2012 2:39 pm


amber

Thumbs Down

Ok, I have read all of the reviews and I wish I had seen this prior to paying my 16 grand!! Your stories are helpful for potential students but what happened at the Columbia Campus far outshines some of these horrors....last week I video tapped our education director being taken out in handcuffs cursing, only to be back to work the next day telling students that it was a mix up they have the wrong guy....oh yeah if thats the case why when I looked up his name on Maryland Case Search did he post a bond on 5 warrants...hmmmmm!!! Nice while I was there I looked up the other employees and sure enough the other creepy guy in education who always takes girls into his office for long periods of time and covers his door window is also a felon....wow!!!! Great school!!! My mom is going to deMAND THEY GIVE HER HER MONEY BACK OR SHE IS GOING TO REPORT THEM TO THE PEOPLE THAT ALLOW THEM TO OPERATE...SOME PLACE CALLED ACCET! posted Jan 19th, 2012 1:32 am


crystal

Thumbs Down

NOTICE:THE ONLY ONE WITH A GOOD REVIEW IS THE SCHOOL REP(YOU SHOULD FIND THAT STRANGE).THEY ARE NOT ACCREDITED,THEY TRY AND TAKE OUT MORE MONEY THEN THEY ARE SUPPOSE TO FROM FASFA(IF YOU DONT CATCH IT YOU WONT KNOW) THIS IS A BAD SCHOOL.I BEG YOU TO NOT ATTEND!!!!!! posted Jan 17th, 2012 2:10 am


cynthia

Thumbs Down

I went and got a certificate in Web and Multi-Media from the Columbia, MD location. STAY AWAY!! Too expensive. I got a MA degree from Univ. of Balt. in Publications Design for less. High pressure to sign-up for classes. They are looking to fill seats and don't care about the student. I had one great Web and 3D instructor, Kirk, that bent over backwards for his students. The classes are too short for the amount of material being taught. I had a video instructor wouldn't teach, he had you do lessons from a book and wouldn't answer questions. 20 out-of 22 students dropped out of the class (including me) and ACI kept the instructor. The next semester 2 of my Web classmates were also in his Video class and both had the same issues. One student dropped out (forfeiting a refund) because the video instructor would not teach (there were only 2 people in the class). ACI still kept this instructor. ACI just doesn't care. The administration is just as bad. If a instructor would cancel class, often students were not informed and some students traveled over 2 hours (even by bus) to get to class. Recently my account was sent to collections even though I made payments and just made a $1000.00 payment 2 months prior. I did not receive a letter, phone call, or even an email informing me my threatened account status much less my bill. This is typical of ACI, give me money and screw you!! Please STAY AWAY!! GO to HCC or UB!! At least you'll get an education and degree. posted Jan 8th, 2012 1:36 am


American Career Institute

Comment

As a representative from American Career Institute we care about how our students feel about our school, and we are sorry that you are dissatisfied. We would like to encourage you to discuss your overall concerns with the campus director and allow them an opportunity to address them. All the campus directors phone numbers are below:



Braintree: Gerry Dooley – 781-794-3400

Cambridge: Eddie Bonnell – 617-441-7575

Framingham: William Kelsey – 508-620-5904

Springfield: Karen Springer – 413-726-2293

Woburn: Shayna Reed – 781-939-0607

Baltimore: Hank Blakely – 301-933-4660

Columbia: Rich Rynders – 443-285-0601

Wheaton: Michael Trembley – 301-933-4660



Thank you, ACI

posted Dec 19th, 2011 3:59 pm


tamica

Thumbs Down

DON'T GO HERE. REPEAT DON'T GO TO THIS SCHOOL. PLEASE READ ALL THE REVIEWS. THEY ARE TRUE. THEY DIDN'T HAVE MANY REVIEWS ON LINE WHEN I LOOKED INTO THE SCHOOL. IF THEY DID I WOULD NOT HAVE GONE HERE. IT IS A TOTAL RIP OFF. MY PARENTS PAID 20K FOR THIS JOKE OF A SCHOOL. I WISH I COULD SUE THEM AND GET MY PARENTS BACK THE MONEY THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE WISELY SPENDING FOR MY EDUCATION. I HAD TO ENROLL IN A LOCAL COLLEGE WHICH WAS MUCH CHEAPER AND RUN LIKE AN EDUCATIONAL FACILITY. IT'S A REALLY BAD SCHOOL. ALL OF THEM!! posted Dec 17th, 2011 3:14 am


Megan

Thumbs Down

I wish I never went to this school. I went to Springfield, MA ACI. There were two students that could not speak any English what so ever and another student had to interpret in Spanish what the instructor was talking bout. Let see... after I was done my externship in September they haven't found a job for me what so ever. I get the run around all the time I call asking did you find me a job... either I dont get an email back or a phone call. Everytime I turn around they want me to come all the way down to Springfield just to talk or sign something that you can send in an email or mail. If you want to talk bout job opportunities you have to go down there... uhh what happen to phones? I dont get paid enough to piss my gas to go down there for 5mins and leave.

School can suck it!!! Most unprofessional place. posted Nov 30th, 2011 4:57 pm


suzy

Thumbs Down

Woburn school very bad school. outdated info. you never know what you classes are. they entered me into a class at the end of the module. had to wait for months to do the beginning of course. I very sorry I went there. big waste of $$. posted Nov 29th, 2011 9:06 pm


tony

Thumbs Down

school in woburn in a joke. different instuctors with no idea of what they are teaching. you get your software after the program is over. they also supply you with outdated books that you never use. everyone gets an A just to show up. breaks are way to long. students get up in middle of class and leave for a smoke while the rest of us wait! four hours of class we might learn something in 20 mins time. teachers are late and have no control over there class. it's a high school filled with problems students. staff is useless once you are there. there are only set up for government funding for the unemployeed. I only wish the government knew what was going on. what a waste and a fraud of a school. I'd call this stealing! Beware, do not go there you will be sorry. posted Nov 16th, 2011 12:55 am


Thomas F. Pattison

Thumbs Down

I am not impressed with ACI. You did not

tell me how long your course would take

to learn computer graphics. I will not

attend ACI. You only talked about money.

I read your reviews not very good.

Thank you. posted Nov 1st, 2011 12:46 am


A student

Thumbs Down

ANOTHER thing they do, is rush kids into the class when we are about to take a final, and expect them to learn everything right there and take the final. FORGOT to add that in. posted Oct 26th, 2011 9:44 pm


A student

Thumbs Down

This school was really horrible! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT go to this school. Everyone that I talked to, including me, was rushed into the school. All they care about is money and saving their jobs. If they don't get 2 students in a week, they are fired. The staff does not communicate with you at all. They are so fake when they do talk to you. Also, at the moment, there are NO teachers, except one or two. THE REST of substitutes. They keep firing their teachers for no reason and making us teach ourselves. I was also sick last night and was unable to get to school. So I called them and they told me to call my substitute. So I did. He called me a child and wouldn't let me retake the test I was missing. I was really sick last night.



If you talk to all of the students without the staff around, they will tell you its all about the money, and that the staff is horrible. MOST OF THE PEOPLE wish they never went to this school. DO NOT COME here. I am about to quit, get a part time job, and just pay off the debt. I'm tired of the staff treating me like shit and manipulating me to stay at this school. You will not learn anything here. We get a different instructor every damn time we go. DO NOT SIGN UP THERE. Save your money for a better school. posted Oct 26th, 2011 9:43 pm


M

Thumbs Down

Framingham campus: useful information for employees, students, and future students



Rep's: I agree with some of the comments about rep's telling you anything to get you to go there. Even people that barely speaks three words of English are allowed to enroll. I have overheard rep's saying horrible things about students/potential students after they would hang up the phone with them. I was aware of one student who went their looking for a certification in a completely different program that is not offered at ANY of the campuses. The rep convinced them to enter into a computer program solely because it offered job security and income. They are all about meeting their numbers so they won't get fired. Some rep's aren't even given the opportunity to take incoming phone calls or walk in potential students because they're given to the "favorites."



Employees: It's obvious that people have been fired and a position created so an employee's friends can come work with them. Responsibilities of the "bosses" are put off on other people which some are loaded with work to begin with.



Smoking: Whoever commented about the smoking in Springfield, I agree 100% for the Framingham campus. You are completely overwhelmed at the front entrance with students chain smoking on the steps. They are told over and over again to go to the smoking section. It looks extremely unprofessional to anyone walking in or even INVESTING in the company.



Cussing: There is an overwhelming amount of cussing mainly from the students. This is not done discretely by any means. Even at the front desk area students say every word between the f-word, c-word, and n-word.



Danger aspect: There have been several accounts of violence, extreme tense situations, and open talk of both at the Framingham campus. Cops are no stranger to the campus. It is almost difficult to find someone without a violent or criminal record. It is not a safe environment. It is a shame because some of the students actually go there to work hard and learn. You shouldn't have to worry about a brutal fight breaking out.



Break times: Break times are scheduled like a high school break time would be scheduled. The entire school is let out from 10am-10:30am and again from 12pm-1pm. This is a perfect opportunity for a fight to break out. It could be a perfect opportunity for a potentially extremely dangerous situation, which has happened before.



Accreditation: The school IS accredited. While teachers in every school are not always perfect, there are some really awesome ones. It's unfortunate because I feel that here, almost anyone can be hired out of desperation.



Students: Many of the students have or at least talk carelessly about their violent records. Some of the students records were formed AT the school. WHY ARE THESE STUDENTS ALLOWED TO RETURN TO THE SCHOOL!? This alone is grounds to ruin the reputation of any school.



Complaints: Complaints are often directed to the wrong people because the appropriate people either make someone els handle it or they are not available. For anyone that does have a complaint, call the Framingham campus and DEMAND to speak to the Human Resources manager about a complaint. If you get a voicemail, call back numerous times daily until you speak to them.



Cost: The cost of the majority of these programs is outrageous. Go to a community college. The rep's are likely going to bash the colleges or communities colleges with numbers and statistics. Understand that graduation rates in colleges are much lower for numerous reasons. It could range between someone transferred to a different college, changed their major, moved out of state, etc. The competition is higher in colleges for good reason however. People need to understand that competition is a GOOD thing. If you can get the grades and beat the competition, you are going to look better on a job application.



Lastly, ACI and other schools are viewed countlessly as hand outs. However, know that, yes, there are some good teachers. It is a fast paced program, and not meant to be easy. Students complain about how they don't have a "word bank" for their tests and quizzes. Word banks are meant for middle school aged children. If a teacher stoops to that level, then be thankful.



If you work hard, do your work, and pay everything on time, you can probably succeed. They have people to help you with job searching. Keep a good reputation and good grades and chances are you will be a priority. It is not the best place to go to and make friends. If possible, avoid it, unless they try just as hard as you do.





Certificate: You need to constantly push them to make your certificate. It is NOT hard to do. Past students have gone just about a full YEAR to get their certificate. It is possible to get it soon after graduation. You should NOT wait any longer than three months to receive a phone call to come get it or have it mailed to you. To get anything done, you need to constantly push the staff. Books are constantly not in stock, supplies run out fast, etc. Some classes are very short and need the book on the first day or sometimes before that. It is unacceptable to not have your books several times throughout your program. posted Oct 25th, 2011 2:59 am


skip

Thumbs Down

They only want your money or the governments. They are set up for the sole purpose of the unemployed to retrain. Gov pays big bucks for students to go there. If they only knew. They lie to get you in and don't deliver on the education promised. posted Oct 13th, 2011 10:04 pm


Bahahahaha!

Comment

ACI in Springfield, MA is very depressing. Not all but some of the class of people that are there as so "ghetto" and it tarnishes any reputation the school may have.



Listen, I smoke but goodness I have the audacity to move away or remain in a designated smoking area because like anything else there are those that do not smoke and it does suck to have thrown in your face smoker or not.



When you walk by the main entrance you will be flooded by second hand smoke by inconsiderate smokers and you'll be bombarded with the "N" word the whole time you're passing by or on break from class.



I withdrew after 5 days because the program I was in was extremely all over the place and the technology they have for computers are terrible.



My PC kept crashing, other students names were still the administrators and then that exact computer was for me because that's what tuition paid for.



I said "NO WAY" and wanted to go over to the Graphics department but they gave me this incredible story to market myself more and do the most expensive program they have.



Don't do it. Go to another school. No school puts on paper "We Promise To Find You Work Upon Graduation" so stop kidding yourselves because that's something we all have to do for ourselves.



I knew what I got into and actually liked it in away but the motivational level there is weak. Research what the education you're going for pays first. Get your job title and use the reference from what the school offers because if you don't, you'll have a different job title than you thought and your training will have been for nothing because you will have gone to the wrong job training.



In these apprenticeship schools, from what I hear Brandon Hall Institute is way better. Interview the schools first and get a feel for it and not your feelings or you will pay.



Make sure if you do choose ACI that you withdraw yourself within the first 7 days and if anything the first day or you will be paying for an entire loan and ruin your credit if you don't pay it.



Don't blame others, blame yourself if you sign documents and don't read. I signed because I knew about the time frame to withdraw if not it would have been lights out for me with a $15,000 debt because I signed the agreement.



A deals a deal so make sure you know the schools end of the bargain. Don't be a Sucker & shop around and do the same thing. College is all about money. Didn't you all know that?



There's no Magic Solve All Solution Pill with any school especially ACI SO THINK! You've been educated! ;) posted Oct 11th, 2011 4:44 pm


billy

Thumbs Down

BEWARE. THEY WILL TELL YOU ANYTHING JUST TO GET YOUR MONEY. THIS SCHOOL IS A TOTAL RIPOFF. I WAS WARNED BY TWO PEOPLE NOT TO COME HERE BUT I DID NOT LISTEN. SORRY I DIDN'T. THIS SCHOOL SHOULD BE REPORTED. posted Sep 28th, 2011 6:15 pm


Scotty

Comment

I am looking into the IT at this school is it legit or not and are the people on here complaining because they're lazy or not I need an honest to god opinion from someone who is not 18 as I am a 31 year old grown man who knows what the real world is like. Someone please give me a non BS answer thank you posted May 26th, 2011 9:39 pm


K

Comment

I will need to go to an externship soon before I can get my certificate. And I am still waiting for the school to find me my externship. I am hoping everything goes well then. I have seen good and bad comments(Mostly bad) about this school so far. posted May 18th, 2011 9:30 pm


Jodi

Thumbs Up

I had a great experience at ACI, and didn't have any trouble finding a job afterwards. I came to the pc networking program after 8 years as an LPN and didn't expect it to be easy. I think that's the problem, some of the other people in class didn't expect to actually have to work to learn anything.



I recommend ACI, no question. Just be ready to work. And when its time to find a job don't expect them to do everything for you. Your old enough to go to school then you are old enough to apply for jobs and make phone calls. posted May 4th, 2011 1:23 pm


Mike

Comment

ACI is accredited, if they weren't then they could not offer Federal Financial Aid...people seem to think its going to be easy and that they are going to find you a job after...not the case. If you work hard and do what you are supposed to, you will succeed. There are students that are so unmarketable, whether its a language barrier, or they are lazy or just don't care and prefer to keep living off of the system, those are the ones on here complaining. People who are satisfied, don't reach out to give reviews...its the people that are unhappy that can't wait to tell the world, thats why these reviews are skewed. posted Apr 5th, 2011 7:33 pm



« previous 123
  Leave Feedback






Advertisement
Advertisement