McCann School of Business and Technology

Preparing students for successful careers.

User Rating

30%

of people who tried this LegacyReview like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 10 reviews
McCann School of Business and Technology

 

BACKGROUND

The McCann School of Business and Technology has been dedicated to helping students start successful careers in their chosen fields since 1897. McCann offers 14 associate's degree programs and 18 diploma programs, which give students at McCann very diverse programs to choose from.

Students at McCann enjoy flexible scheduling options, including day, evening, and online classes. The professors at McCann School are professionals in their fields and are committed to sharing their knowledge with their students. Students at McCann school enjoy small classes that are very in-depth and informative. A caring career services department helps students find internships while at the McCann School of Business and find jobs after graduation. Financial Aid is available to those who qualify. McCann School has five campuses in Pennsylvania, making it very convenient for students in Pennsylvania to attend classes.

Click HERE to Visit the McCann School of Business and Technology Website

PRO

- Day, evening, and online classes make it easy for students to attend classes
- Over 30 degree programs
- Small class sizes with professors who care
- Career services department helps student advance their careers

CON

- Only located in Pennsylvania
- No completely online degrees

DEGREE PROGRAMS

Associate’s Degree in Specialized Business:

Accounting
Administrative Office Technology
Business Management
Computer Science and Programming
Cosmetology
Criminal Justice
Early Childhood Education
Marketing and Management
Medical Assisting
Network Administration
Medical Office Technology
Paralegal Studies
Massage Therapy
Surgical Technology

Diploma Programs:

Accounting Assistant
Clinical Office Assistant
Computer Programming Technology
Computer Office Support
Cosmetology
Cosmetology Teacher
Massage Therapy
Medical Billing and Coding
Medical Office Assistant
Microcomputer Applications
Office Assistant
Nail Technology
Respiratory Therapy
Skin Care Technology
Health Information Technology
Network Administration
Medical Health Records Management
Surgical Technology

SCHOOLS

The McCann School has five campuses in Pennsylvania: Dickson City, Hazel Township, Pottsville, Sunbury, and Allentown.

STUDENT LIFE

Students at the McCann School of Business are motivated individuals who want to earn their degree in the business or technical fields. They want to learn from professors who care about their success and understand the importance of having in-depth, mentally stimulating classes. Both traditional and non-traditional students attend the McCann School. 

CONCLUSION

The McCann School of Business and Technology is a wonderful choice for students who want to earn their degree from a respectable career training school. The faculty and staff take a real interest in the success of their students and help them in any way they can. Students at McCann enjoy small, in-depth, informative classes, which is imperative for a successful career in these fields. They also enjoy a wide variety of degree programs to choose from, allowing them to select a program that is interesting and fulfilling to them.

 

Common Misspellings

McCan School of Business and Technology, McCannon School of Business and Technology, McCann College of Business, McCann School, McCann School of Business, Mcann School of Business, MSBT

 



Need to make an update to this listing? Contact us here.


User Feedback
(Page 1 of 1)

Alejandrina Berrios

Comment

I just attended McCann I was going through personal issues and still made time to complete work even if I got it in after a couple minutes of the deadline but then was dropped which wasn't because of the few late work that I handed in. Here the reason was because I didn't complete the homework and quiz for 2 assignments and it wasn't my fault because there was nothing assigned to me when I clicked the links and my boyfriend was a witness of it. I put my best work into it and for nothing just to drop me. They didn't even give me a chance to get those items done but instead want me to re enroll and start everything I already did over. I was thinking about re enrolling but after these reviews...NO THANK YOU!!! posted Sep 28th, 2017 6:56 pm


Phoebe

Comment

Have you ever seen their commercial? You may have noticed that Rose B graduated from McCann in 2010, but she also graduated from Berks Technical(Mccanns parent co is the same)the same year. They are the exactly the same commercial! This is how stupid they think people are. I warned a relative that if she went to Community College she would be able to hire a tutor with the money she saved by not going to McCann. Plus have money left over. She went to McCann couldn't handle it because she never got the one on one they promised. Stay away from McCann, we have 2 very good community colleges in the area and you pay as you go and not get ripped. posted Feb 2nd, 2017 12:06 am


David

Comment

I went to ctc the majority of time at the end mccann bought them graduated with honors and was offered job by three hospitals as entry level surgical tech I make teens an hour and overtime I learned and still study all colleges tuitions are higher thanks to republican it was worth the struggle posted Dec 26th, 2016 12:04 pm


K. G.

Comment

As a current student of this school - I have to urge people to not attend. i am finally able to transfer out -- and I found a school who will accept my credits! 5 more weeks. The instructors here do not care about teaching; they do not care if you learn; and they sure don't give a d**m if you succeed and graduate. They care about the money -- and that is it. McCann purchased my school in the middle of my education and since then -- problem after problem. I began when it was CTC in Monroe, LA and half way through they changed to McCann. They changed the classes to 5 weeks long with four hour classes - and then load you up on classes and hope you fail so they can charge you for the class again. My admissions representative lied to me (typical) when I enrolled. She told me it was an Associates of Sciences Degree -- and that any college would take my credits. I called over 100 colleges in the country and found a handful that would. I haven't learned anything in any of my classes. Please, do your research BEFORE you enroll in a school. I am transferring to Southern New Hampshire University where they actually care about your education; they are a non-profit; and the Degree is an ACTUAL DEGREE. An Associate Degree in Occupational Studies? I shall pass. posted Oct 12th, 2016 4:11 pm


Jenn B.

Comment

I just graduated from Mccann in Sunbury pa. WASTE of time and money. I am currently starting at Penn College and they do take SOME of the credits from Mccann. However, the college math at mccann is NOT college math. It's not even certificate math. You will be required to take another math class at any other school you go to. Job placement is a joke. They don't help you get a good paying job. They help you get a mim. wage job thou. So, if you aren't $40,000 in debt, then a mim wage job is great. Employers will tell you, especially med students, that mccann does not train you for what you will do in the medical field. So be careful if you take medical classes. Instructors don't stick around. Heck, office people don't even stick around. They are always changing them. Don't expect the same advisor the whole time you are there. I had one advisor who left mccann and went to another college, got a new advisor, who was there for one term, and they got rid of her. Then I had no advisor for a term. Then we got a advisor who had no clue on my program. THEY DO SIDE WITH THE FAVORITES. So make sure you kiss the instructors butts so you can be a favorite. Thats the only way you will make out in this school. posted Aug 11th, 2015 7:48 am


so disgusted!!

Thumbs Down

I got ripped off and learned nothing from that fraud establishment. DO NOT GO THERE!! I am planning to further my complaint against McCann to the state government posted Mar 12th, 2015 11:46 am


frustrated!!

Thumbs Down

I went there for Criminal Justice, decided that wasn't really for me, I like investigating better. So I enrolled in their Investigations and Security program. I had to take a break due to the fact my car died. When I was able to return, I had one 2 credit class left and I was told by admissions that McCann no longer offers that class. They also no longer carry that program! So $30K in student loans and I can't even finish the damn program!! The place is a complete joke! posted Dec 9th, 2014 12:19 am


Richard Stelcard

Thumbs Up

McCann is a great school to begin with ! Some colleges don't accept credits from certain schools.The Federal Government would not give loans to a school like McCann, if the school was not accredited . Depending what field a person choses to go into there are no guarentee of finding a good paying job in your career field ! McCann only offers up to a Associates degree. Unless your looking for a high paying Career then go on for a Bachlors or a Masters degree from a University! McCann is a great choice for advancing in your (already working career) field. I know people who went to Temple University and still have not got a job!!!! People do your research and donot blame a school for your own stupidity.This is college not Kindergarten!!!! posted Sep 27th, 2014 3:37 pm


Edward Publik

Comment

McCann is a great school to begin with ! Some colleges don't accept credits from certain schools.The Federal Government would not give loans to a school like McCann, if the school was not accredited . Depending what field a person choses to go into there are no guarentee of finding a good paying job in your career field ! McCann only offers up to a Associates degree. Unless your looking for a high paying Career then go on for a Bachlors or a Masters degree from a University! McCann is a great choice for advancing in your (already working career) field. I know people who went to Temple University and still have not got a job!!!! People do your research and donot blame a school for your own stupidity.This is college not Kindergarten!!!! posted Sep 27th, 2014 3:35 pm


Edward

Thumbs Up

McCann is a great school to begin with ! Some colleges don't accept credits from certain schools.The Federal Government would not give loans to a school like McCann, if the school was not accredited . Depending what field a person choses to go into there are no guarentee of finding a good paying job in your career field ! McCann only offers up to a Associates degree. Unless your looking for a high paying Career then go on for a Bachlors or a Masters degree from a University! McCann is a great choice for advancing in your (already working career) field. I know people who went to Temple University and still have not got a job!!!! People do your research and donot blame a school for your own stupidity.This is college not Kindergarten!!!! posted Sep 27th, 2014 3:31 pm


The Real Truth

Comment

Everyone who was lied to by McCann s.o.b and posted your comments here are 100% correct. The education is below sub-par at best and not only do they lie to potential students

(and their families) about loans,credits,education job placement,ect but the "instructors" and senior staff laugh at the students,gossip about them and make fun of them. You may choose to not believe this and that's your prerogative but before you dismiss this let me add something. I was married to a McCann instructor and have bore witness to all of the above more than once over many many years. Be warned, do not waste your your precious time and money. posted Sep 19th, 2014 4:40 pm


Confused

Thumbs Up

I'm reading these reviews and I'm shocked. I'm a graduate of McCann, and have been employed since gr4aduation. I had to put in a lot of hard work to do so and reading all theses reviews are confusing to me. Someone saying that they didn't know that the interest payments would start on an unsubsidized loan right away, and that person went to school previously themselves, that's your own fault the loans come from the government not from McCann. I did all my research before starting McCann, I didn't just "take their word for it", do research and stop blaming others because you can't go on a website and read. As far as credits being transferred, I for one was only looking for a job after graduation but again I did my research and found that a 6 schools take their credits and in fact, I found a paper from my enrollment paperwork that said what agreements they had and with what schools. And for the guy or girl or said that they didn't get a job when they graduated and it's been 3 years and only received one phone call, I was laid off 2 years after I graduated and called McCann and they sent my resume out again and I'm working in my field yet again. Why are you waiting for a phone call, pick up the phone and call them? Do the work people, life is hard and you need to work at it, don't expect anyone else do it for you. My sister went to Bloomsburg University, she's not working, they don't help with placement, has a bigger financial debt then I do. Does that make Bloomsburg a bad school?? No not at all. Stop being lazy and blaming others for your own issues. posted Aug 1st, 2014 12:38 pm


soonotworthyourtime

Thumbs Down

I went to this school, got my degree, took my exam, have my license...and still have NO JOB!! They were supposed to hire me, but never called back! I heard the reason behind it and it was a complete lie! This school is a joke and a waste of time. DO NOT GO THERE posted Jan 23rd, 2014 3:43 am


jack

Thumbs Down

I can say "what a Rip Off Set you Up for Failure" school. They should be ashamed of themselves. Make it impossible to work and go to their classes. DO NOT ENROLL IN THIS SCHOOL. You will be making a big mistake. posted Aug 8th, 2013 3:19 am


Stay Away!

Comment

I was told the same as other reviewers about credits transferring which is a big lie. I was also told that they have a wonderful job placement program false again. I received one phone call to tell me there was a job fair (advertised in local newspapers) that is the only time I ever received a call. I tried contacting them about this and all I ever got was more lies. Here it is 3 years later,same job, paying back student loans and the worst financial shape of my life.

Thanks McCann for ruining my life. posted Jul 31st, 2013 11:44 pm


ROBBBED!!!!

Comment

First off when I first met with an admissions rep. I was told that this was a good jumping off point and that McCann credits were accepted by all the local colleges/universities- NOT!!! Credits don't mean squat! I wasted 2 years there- they lie about the amount of time it takes to complete programs! I now am at an actual university, completing a real program that is actually accredited. Many students are suing and are being unable to take the exam, having problems finding externships, and finding a real job since employers even see McCann as a complete fraud & a joke. posted Jul 1st, 2013 1:17 am


jerked around

Thumbs Down

When I went to McCann 10 years ago it was a pretty decent school. But now my wife is going to McCann.



They let you order books online to "help alleviate costs". The only problem is they do not update the ISBN number for those people that do order books online. So far we had to buy 5 extra books because they "forgot" to update the ISBN numbers on the website until the day classes started. Then the books we had were "out of date".



And we just recently got a letter from the loan people stating that we are supposed to start paying on the interest. We were told by McCann that we didn't have to pay on interest until 6 months after graduation. We called McCann and they stated "that only applies to certain loans". Again we were not happy.



And now to the teachers. Some are great teachers. Others (if they show up for class) are not. The teachers have no idea what they are teaching. They go straight from the book and thats it. If you ask a question relating to the subject and its not covered in the book they have no idea. If you have questions not pertaining to the book you have to "find the answers on google".



Needless to say I will never recommend McCann to anyone ever again. And we are filing grievances toward McCann to the Better Business Bureau. posted May 13th, 2011 2:20 pm


scam

Thumbs Down

Got approved for student loans since I couldn't afford tuition. AFTER the term was over, they sent me a letter saying I was not eligible for the loans and that I now owed them over $2000 for the classes I took. Apparently the education director CLAIMED he told me I wouldn't have enough credits but that I refused to add more classes. The truth is that NO ONE TOLD ME I did not have enough credits. The first I heard of this was when I got the bill in the mail. Don't bother with McCann. Community college is cheaper and the credits will actually transfer. posted Jan 18th, 2011 3:42 pm


rippedoff

Thumbs Down

All I can say is RIP OFF ALERT... Credits do not transfer, employers laugh at these degrees and the programs they offer have little value if you want a job paying any more than minimum wage. posted Jan 26th, 2010 1:16 pm



  Leave Feedback






About

We help students find reviews on colleges, get help with student loan refinancing and other resourceful content to help students.

Social Links

© 2018 EDUInReview.com