Nelnet

Education Planning and Financing

User Rating

1%

of people who tried this LegacyReview like it

Tried it? Rate it!
out of 100
based on 82 reviews
Nelnet

BACKGROUND
Nelnet is a financial planning site geared specifically toward educational funding. It provides direct links to financial planners, loan applications as well as immediate entry into Nelnet’s $1 Million scholarship giveaway. All aspects of college funding are explained in detail, including FAFSA, Debt Management and Scholarship information. Parents and students who apply for loans from this location will have access to their account from the Nelnet website, to make payments, check balance, and/or locate assistance concerning repayment options.

Nelnet utilizes Peterson’s College Search program, for those who have not yet chosen a college.  Additionally, it offers tutorials that address everything from test preparation to the inevitable career application process, including resume writing, career tips and newsletters.

Finally, Nelnet has funding and scholarship opportunities for K-12 students who may be attending private schools, or who are international students. They also have monies available for summer camps and programs.

PRO
- Pertinent financial information from one site
- Access to loan account information
- Ability to make payments online
- Entry into scholarship sweepstakes
- Test preparation advice
- Career application advice
- Application for student loans can be done online
- Information for K-12 students

CON
- Scholarship search requires scholastic background information

EXPENSE
There is no fee for using this site.

DEGREE PROGRAMS
Nelnet provides funding and scholarship information for:

- K-12
- Business Colleges
- Vocational Colleges
- Universities and Colleges
- Graduate Programs
- International Students

SCHOOLS
The list of schools will vary according to the search criteria selected.

STUDENT LIFE
Although student life is not addressed in a direct manner, it is alluded to within the many funding propositions for all types of students, including International and K-12.

CONCLUSION
Nelnet provides over $1.2 Million in scholarships every year. Additionally, their scholarship search tool is cohesively designed to connect you with programs that address your profile.

Because they completely explain the financial requirements, (such as Expected Family Contribution), profile direct-loan and bank-distributed Federal Loan programs, and offer both college and scholarship search tools, this site is something you will certainly want to visit on more than one occasion.

Common Misspellings
Nel net, Nellnet, Nellent

Share


User Feedback
(Page 1 of 6)

Dissatisfied Customer

Thumbs Down

The customer service is stunted. They have a script that they follow and seldom deviate from. I have saved my conversations to learn the right trigger words that elicit the correct scripted response so that I can then steer them in the direction I need for help. The most irritating thing at the moment is that I am making extra payments while enrolled in Kwikpay which pushes out my due date no matter what I do. They say it is within 30 days of the due that they cannot adjust my due date on that loan because they cannot get me a statement on time. Which I odd as I receive e-statements. So every month after the Kwikpay goes through I pull up my old script with the right key words so that I can get the correct response and move from there. Today I went in and missed used one word and that added time to the conversation. I was once told that I should not be mad as these people make nine dollars an hour. I found that odd. I make less than that at my part-time job. Does that excuse me from doing decent work too? posted Jul 22nd, 2014 10:15 pm


Maura

Thumbs Down

Very rude and not helpful! posted Jan 6th, 2014 8:30 pm


Alan

Thumbs Down

Definitely having problems with this service after my loans were transferred here. Taking forever to update my payments on income based repayment plan after sending in updated income twice. Also taking forever to process my payment that I made online. posted Dec 24th, 2013 8:45 am


Chad

Thumbs Down

Very unhelpful service. They could not answer a single question without putting me on hold for extended periods of time. posted Oct 31st, 2013 5:10 pm


Jeremy

Thumbs Down

Ever since NELNET took over my student loans it has been nothing but problems. Funds depositing into other peoples accounts, interest being incorrectly calculated. Wish these pricks would have a little taste of there own medicine. They have no business touching anything federal related. As mentioned ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE posted Oct 19th, 2013 2:42 pm


Nina

Thumbs Down

Nelnet does not update payments on the payment schedule information in a timely manner. Please remember to print out your statement and your payment documentation each month so that you have back up for when they oh-so-conveniently screw up your account and charge you fees. posted Oct 17th, 2013 7:15 pm


Trina

Thumbs Down

There should be recourse against a company like Nelnet. They seem to be determined to charge student loan borrowers as much interest as possible. I've never seen a company so determined to avoid taking my payments every month in an effort to accrue more interest and keep me in debt. I have to fight them and their crappy system every month to make a payment. Their Kwik-Pay option discourages overpaying by NOT making a payment even when the user orders a monthly amount. I swear, they do it on purpose to keep the interest gravy train rolling.



They also make it impossible to tell how much you owe and where the interest is coming from. Not transparent at all. And the loan amount never seems to budge, no matter how much I over pay. Interest, interest, interest. I wish I could figure out how they are doing it, but every time I call I get transferred and corporate doublespeak and they refuse to explain anything, all the while reading from some training manual that teaches them how to continue their cultish charade of customer service.



Companies like this need a light shone on their nefarious practices and exposed for the frauds and cheats that they really are. posted Oct 8th, 2013 2:18 am


alyssa

Thumbs Down

I never heard of nelnet until recently. I got an email saying I'm one month behind on my payment and I was thinking to myself I graduated in 2012 why would you wait a whole year to tell me I'm a month behind. then I get a lot of phone calls from them saying they need my adress and my social security. I don't know what to do they keep harassing me I only made account with fafsa and I notice when they call most of the time it's a machine. posted Oct 3rd, 2013 3:26 pm


Elsa Tolossa

Thumbs Down

Tried to fax and email my 1040 and they did not receive it ...the agents just tell you sorry we did not receive it ....did it twice !

they have these young kids who have no clue what they are doing IT IS VERY FRUSTRATING ! THEY SUCK !! posted Oct 2nd, 2013 5:34 pm


sadsfds

Comment

Rude customer service, bad website design, delayed payment schedule. This is a fraud company. posted Sep 20th, 2013 1:52 am


william

Thumbs Down

I got transferred here from the regular federal loan site. Terrible experience and terrible customer service. Not to mention they take forever to process a payment.



I am putting absurd amounts of money into my loans every month to pay it off as soon as possible, just so i dont have to deal with them anymore. posted Aug 5th, 2013 4:50 pm


MD

Thumbs Down

Terrible experience with Nelnet. Their IT glitch automatically deleted my bank account that I had provided them for direct debit and also erased all the payment history for 3 months. They were about to report me to the credit bureau saying that my account is past due for 119 days! I spent 2 hours with them on the phone and finally everything was corrected. They had no idea what was going on. I don't know how many people were affected.

posted Jul 24th, 2013 1:23 am


Nick

Comment

Screw nelnet! I had to submit payment four times online before finally accepted and when it was it charged 3 times... so I called nelnet.. lady on phone told me they could do refunds or anything bc it had overdrafted my bank acc.. needless to say. Poor company and website very bad handling of business with phone too posted Jun 20th, 2013 11:38 am


Jen

Thumbs Down

Stay away from these clowns!!!!! They withdrawl more than you authorize!! There online payment schedule doesn't reflect when and how much they actually withdrawl. When you speak to them about the issue it's never there fault. I asked to be transferred to a manager and the person I spoke with REFUSED. I asked for his name and he gave me John T. Refused to give me his full name, but these clowns can have my info and do whatever they please to do. Poor customer service. Scam artists at there finest!!! posted Mar 21st, 2012 4:44 pm


Carlos

Thumbs Down

These people are idiots and do not have policies in place to help people, only to prey upon them.



http://forgivestudentloandebt.com/ posted Mar 20th, 2012 9:34 pm


Veronica Cornwell

Comment

my loan was suppose to be discharged do to my disabilty,now I 'm gettings letters from Nelnet demanded full payments of interest and principal.whats wrong with this picture. posted Mar 18th, 2012 6:27 pm


cyrus

Thumbs Down

I have paid over 5000 for my loan in past 7 years they toke over 4000 dollars for interest!!!!!

They are very Unprofessional for customer service, and greedy when come to treat business. I would never recommend student, under graduate or graduate do business with them. It is simple to believe me, just read above feedbacks. We do not want anybody else to enter and severely suffer of their financial trap . When it come financial decision making, wise person use other people advice and experiences instead of experience himself or herself, but decision is yours.

posted Mar 13th, 2012 9:35 pm


Tony

Thumbs Down

Horrible company. Avoid them at all costs. posted Mar 13th, 2012 1:45 pm


KT

Thumbs Down

Had an issue with overpayment because one of my transactions was never posted to my account, so I ended up paying twice. Called customer service, and their representative sounded nice UNTIL I told her about my issue. The FIRST thing she tried to do was insist that it wasn't Nelnet's fault. Then she continued with a very rude tone in her voice, to the point where she was almost looking to ARGUE with me about the double transaction instead of helping me! Finally I managed to ask about getting a refund, which is the reason I called in the first place.



I never want to deal with Nelnet again. posted Mar 1st, 2012 1:02 pm


Brian

Thumbs Down

The Dept of Ed is using Nelnet to "service" my student loans and my loan was transferred without my knowledge. Once I started trying to make payments it is impossible. Nelnet's website is garbage, the auto-pay has failed no less than 4 times now, with them trying to help me fix it when I call in. When I noticed that the autopay didn't work I tried to -manually- pay my bill and THAT DIDN'T WORK either. So then they call me saying my bill is late. I'm trying to buy a house and these morons are trying to ruin me. I'm complaining to my congressman. This is ridiculous. posted Feb 29th, 2012 2:30 am



« previous 123456
  Leave Feedback






Advertisement
Latest from Our Blog
 
Advertisement